The Deaf Claque

Because they’re worth clapping for…probably…

President Declares Major Disaster: San Diego Fires


This morning President Bush declared the fires of San Diego a serious disaster. He announced the availability of federal aid those affected in Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, and Ventura counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.” (1)

This is a tragic disaster to be sure. Here are the estemated numbers as of this morning:

More than 900,000 people have been ordered to evacuate their homes in the face of the fires.

More than 20 fires have scorched 400,000-plus acres from the Mexican border to northern Los Angeles County and inland into the San Bernardino Mountains since the weekend.” (2)

To all those affected, and especially all of my friends who live in San Diego, I hope the fires stop soon and immediate and effective action is taken to remedy this situation.

October 24, 2007 - Posted by | George W. Bush, Natural Disasters | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I was born in San Diego and I’ve seen the fires caused by the Santa Ana winds and it was the scariest experience of my life. My family still lives there and when I hear about the fires almost every year I get so scared especially the fires of 07. My aunt, uncle, and little cousin had to evacuate and they couldn’t take their pets. I told my mom she was lucky we moved to New York because if we had to evacutlate and I couldn’t bring my pets with my I would have stayed behind.

    Comment by Sara | March 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

